Energy transition

Finalists Announced for the World Hydrogen 2022 Awards

13 April 2022
How can we help you?

The Sustainable Energy Council (SEC) has today announced the finalists for the World Hydrogen 2022 Awards sponsored by Shell, comprised of 30 extraordinary projects, companies and individuals who are transforming the hydrogen industry.

Hydrogen plant

The winners will be announced on 9th May 2022 at a ceremony at the Rotterdam Ahoy, as part of the World Hydrogen 2022 Summit & Exhibition, organised by Sustainable Energy Council in partnership with the Province of Zuid Holland, the City of Rotterdam and the Port of Rotterdam.

The 6 awards categories celebrate the exceptional achievements from companies and individuals who are driving the hydrogen industry forward. Through innovation, partnerships and commercial advances, these finalists are enabling the scalability needed to make hydrogen commercially viable and readily available to decarbonise even the most polluting sectors of our global economy.

The awards judging panel was made up of the SEC Hydrogen Advisory Board, who carefully reviewed and voted on each of the nominees based on this year’s awards criteria.

The finalists of the World Hydrogen 2022 Awards are:

Green Hydrogen Project Award

  • SSAB Steel Company, Sweden
  • Central Coast Hydrogen Food Cluster’s World First Pilot Application of Star Scientific’s HERO® with Mars Food Australia
  • Neom
  • Aquaterra Energy, Lhfye and Borr Drilling - Project Haldane
  • Future Proof Shipping - The FPS Maas Project

Hydrogen Industrial Application Award

  • Linde and OVAKO first in the world to heat steel with hydrogen
  • Luxfer Gas Cylinders
  • Maersk
  • Air Products Landmark US $4.5B Louisiana Blue Hydrogen Clean Energy Complex

Future Hydrogen Leader Award

  • Anne Lyck Smitshuysen, Partner, DynElectro
  • Randolf Weterings, Electrification and Hydrogen, Port of Rotterdam
  • Meriem lhammoumi, Senior Project Manager, chez JESA (JV OCP & WORLEY)
  • Mathijs Groenewegen, Business Development Engineer, bp
  • Vaitea Cowan, co-founder, Enapter

Port of the Future Award

  • Port of Rotterdam
  • Port of Teesside
  • Port of Valencia
  • Port of Roenne
  • Port of Sohar

Hydrogen Transport Award

  • Air Products Hydrogen for Mobility Business
  • Everfuel
  • Joint Initiative for hydrogen Vehicles across Europe (JIVE)
  • Hyzon Motors
  • Air Products & Cummins to Accelerate Development & Deployment of Hydrogen Fuel Cell Trucks

Hydrogen Person of the Year Award

  • Pierre-Etienne Franc, Co-founder and President FiveT Hydrogen, CEO of Hy24
  • Dr. Eva Ravn Nielsen, Chief Advisor for Hydrogen & Power-to-X, Ramboll
  • Seifi Ghasemi, CEO & Chairman, Air Products
  • Adamo Screnci, Board Member - Director, Hydrogen Refuelling Solutions (HRS)
  • Jorgo Chatzimarkakis, CEO, Hydrogen Europe